Minutes

Bloomington Faculty Council Minutes for February 15, 2022

- 1. The Bloomington Faculty Council held its regular biweekly meeting on Tuesday afternoon, February 15, 2022 in Presidents Hall. With Provost Rahul Shrivastav as Presiding Officer in the chair and Professor Spang acting as secretary, the meeting convened at 2:33 p.m. and the minutes of the previous meeting were approved.
- 2. Professor John Wallbridge read a <u>memorial resolution</u> for Professor J. Michael Dunn (1941-2021).
- 3. Vice-Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Eliza Pavalko read a <u>memorial resolution</u> for Professor Susan J. Eklund (1939-2020).
- 4. On behalf of the Council and all faculty, President Marietta Simpson welcomed Professor Shrivastav back to Bloomington and to his new role as advocate for the campus; she also outlined forthcoming items of Council business.
- 5. The Council responded to Provost Shrivastav's introductory remarks with a round of applause.
- 6. On behalf of the Faculty Affairs Committee, co-chairs Steve Sanders and Tim Lemper introduced <u>proposed changes</u> to the <u>Faculty Misconduct Policy</u> (BL-ACA-D27) for a *second reading*. Discussion followed.
- 7. Professor Sacks moved an amendment to shorten the policy's definition of "incompetence" to read "chronic or egregious derelicition of duty or failure to perform job duties, such as by a faculty member wilfully refusing to perform their job duties or unreasonably neglecting them." The motion having been seconded, discussion followed. The amendment failed on a show-of-hands vote.
- 8. Professor Herrera moved an amendment stipulating "at least two members of the Faculty Misconduct Review Committee must come from the ranks of the NTT faculty." The motion was seconded and discussion followed. On a show-of-hands vote, the motion was defeated.
- 9. Professor Spang moved to call the question. The motion [which requires a 2/3 majority to pass] was defeated by a vote of 22 (yeas) to 15 (nays).
- 10. Rachael Cohen, Parliamentarian, moved to send the matter back to committee. The motion passed by a vote of 28 (yeas) to 10 (nays).

- 11. Dr. Sally Letsinger, chair of the Research Affairs Committee, presented the results of the survey on participation in governance by non-tenure-track faculty.
- 12. The meeting adjourned at 4:28 p.m.