Minutes

Bloomington Faculty Council Minutes for December 6, 2022

- 1. The Bloomington Faculty Council held its regular biweekly meeting on Tuesday afternoon, December 6, 2022 in Presidents Hall. With Provost Rahul Shrivastav serving as the Presiding Officer in the chair and Professor Danielle DeSawal acting as secretary, the meeting convened at 2:30 p.m.
- 2. The minutes of the November 15, 2022 meeting were approved.
- 3. Vice-Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Eliza Pavalko read a memorial resolution for Phillips Cutright (1930-2020).
- 4. Vice-Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Eliza Pavalko read a memorial resolution for Benito V. Rivera (1936 –2020).
- 5. Faculty President, Professor Reck (Chemistry) provided a few announcements. She announced that Heather McDonald has joined the BFC Faculty Council Office Staff as the assistant director. The IU Bookstore is looking for a faculty member to join the Advisory Board. The Board meets once a semester for 60-90 minutes. The SAAAC is still in need of faculty members. If interested in either opportunity, please email Professor Reck. She yielded part of her time to IUSG President Kyle Seibert. President Seibert shared that the IUSG student health care fund has been providing free emergency contraceptives throughout the semester. Since August, IUSG has been working to create an account to support this program with a goal to endow the fund. An account has been established, IU Student Government Student Healthcare Fund, and donations can be made online. President Reck concluded with thanking VPFAA Eliza Pavalko for her service. The BFC presented a resolution to Professor Pavalko.
- 6. Provost Shrivastav shared that he remains excited on the progress of the <u>IUB 2030</u> strategic planning process. The <u>25 working groups</u> will be concluding their work and submitting the suggested measurable objectives, strategic actions, and metrics appropriate to their area of focus to the relevant <u>planning committee co-chairs</u>. As the process continues, the IU community will be asked to provide feedback in multiple ways including two town halls in February 2023. The process is expected to be completed in March 2023. The <u>faculty 100</u> hiring initiative is moving forward with the review committee providing initial recommendations. The <u>2022 Staff Merit Award recipients</u> have been announced and the VPFAA search has concluded with Professor Kimberly Geeslin being named the next VPFAA effective December 19, 2022. Updates on dean searches and the Vice President for Research search were also provided.
- 7. Parliamentarian Cohen (Libraires) presented the Change to the Bloomington Faculty Council constitution. The BFC voted with a show of hand vote, and the suggested amendment passed. The amendment will be circulated by President Reck to the voting

members of the faculty. Ratification by the faculty will be conducted through an electronic ballot.

<u>Current BL-ACA-D8 Constitution of the Bloomington Faculty</u>
B20-2023: Proposed change to BL-ACA-D8 Constitution of the Bloomington Faculty

- 8. Professor's John Arthos (English), J Duncan (Informatics), and Micol Seigel (American Studies and History) presented an extensive report from the Task Force on the Future of General Education. The update focused on sharing the task force's findings related to recommendations for evolutionary changes to the general education structure. Questions and comments followed.
- 9. Co-chairs, Professor's Jose Luis Antinao Rojas (Indiana Geological and Water Survey) and Israel Herrera (Spanish and Portuguese) provided a report on the work of the International Affairs Committee. The update focused on an overview of the role of the committee, and the completed and ongoing work of the committee. Questions and comments followed.
- 10. The meeting concluded at 4:15 p.m.