## **Minutes**

Bloomington Faculty Council Minutes for November 15, 2022

- 1. The Bloomington Faculty Council held its regular biweekly meeting on Tuesday afternoon, November 15, 2022 in Presidents Hall. With Provost Rahul Shrivastav serving as the Presiding Officer in the chair and Professor Danielle DeSawal acting as secretary, the meeting convened at 2:34 p.m.
- 2. The minutes of the October 18, 2022 meeting were approved.
- 3. Vice-Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Eliza Pavalko read a memorial resolution for John A. Boquist (1947-2019).
- 4. Vice-Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Eliza Pavalko read a memorial resolution for Stanley A. Hagstrom (1930-2019).
- 5. Faculty President, Professor Reck provided brief comments that focused on four areas 1) thanking everyone who is participating in the strategic planning process and encouraging everyone to <u>submit comments to the online portal</u>; 2) thanking the BFC task force for research reorganization for their work and providing a document with suggestions and comments for consideration; 3) request for names to be submitted for the nominations committee to consider for filling the SAAAC; and 4) the BFC office has received two proposals via email that have been forwarded to the appropriate BFC committee for consideration.
- 6. Provost Shrivastav began with sharing that the new accelerated master's program (AMP IU) initiative at IU has launched and marketing these pathways will begin in 2023. He further shared that approximately 75 applications have been received for consideration in the first 25 hires of the Faculty 100 initiative. Updates on the launch of IU Strategic Plan 2030, and the current Vice-Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs and dean searches were also shared.
- 7. Professor Danielle DeSawal (Education) presented the Change to the Bloomington Faculty Council constitution in place of Parliamentarian Cohen who was unable to attend. Question and comment followed.

Current BL-ACA-D8 Constitution of the Bloomington Faculty B12-2023: Proposed change to BL-ACA-D8 Constitution of the Bloomington Faculty

8. Professor Caroline Chick Jarrold (Chemistry), chair of the Task Force on Research Reorganization provided a summary of the report - B15-2023: Report on Proposed Research Consolidation by VPR with the members of the task force. The members included Patty Ingham (English), Halina Goldberg (Musicology), Leslie Rutkowski

(Counseling and Educational Psychology), Kim Novick (Environmental Sciences), Deborah Widiss (Law), Bill Hetrick (Psychological and Brain Sciences), Pete Kollbaum (Optometry), and Angie Raymond (Business Law and Ethics). The update focused on sharing the task force's findings related to the leadership structure, process for the reorganization, and the definition of research. Questions and comment followed.

- 9. David Johnson, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management, Sacha Thieme, Assistant Vice Provost and Executive Director for Admissions, and Sarah Booher, Assistant Vice Provost and Executive Director of Retention provided an update on the retention and graduation data at IUB. Questions and comments followed.
- 10. The meeting concluded at 4:30 p.m.