Special Meeting of the Bloomington Faculty Minutes for April 16, 2024

- The Bloomington Faculty Council held a Special Meeting of the Faculty on Tuesday afternoon, April 16, 2024, in the IU Auditorium. With President Colin Johnson as the Presiding Officer and President-elect Danielle De Sawal acting as secretary, the meeting convened at 2:31 p.m.
- 2. President Johnson provided a summary of the events that took place to call a special meeting of the faculty. On the evening of March 27^{th,} the Executive Committee of the Faculty Council received a petition signed by more than 200 members of the voting faculty calling for a special meeting of the full faculty to consider a vote of no confidence in Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Carrie Docherty, Bloomington Provost Rahul Shrivastav, and Indiana University President Pamela Whitten. According to section 4.3 of the Constitution of the Bloomington Faculty (BL-ACA-D8) "Special meetings of the faculty may be convened by the University President, by the Bloomington Provost, by petition to the Bloomington Faculty President of 50 faculty members, or by majority vote of the Bloomington Faculty Council." The eligibility of the signatories to the petition were verified by the Bloomington Faculty Council, and the Bloomington Faculty Council Executive Committee unanimously agreed that the procedural requirements had been met to justify the convening of a special meeting of the full faculty.

The petition request stated:

"The current IU administration is encroaching on both academic freedom and shared governance by, among other things, sanctioning faculty and by canceling art exhibits at the Eskenazi Museum. These recent actions, when taken together with the administration's failure to proactively and effectively stand against the Indiana legislature's violations of academic freedom and faculty protections, its fortunately unsuccessful attempt to separate Kinsey from IU, its disregard toward the 2022 faculty vote in support of graduate student workers, and its refusal to publicly support IU faculty member Dr. Caitlin Bernard, motivate this petition for an all-faculty meeting to consider a vote of no confidence."

The procedural rules that will govern the proceedings were outlined. These rules are either explicitly enumerated within the Constitution or they have been established by President Johnson in his capacity as the meeting's presiding officer working in consultation with Parliamentarian Rachael Cohen.

- 3. Parliamentarian Cohen went over the rules of the meeting. Those included:
 - a. Faculty must sign in and out of the session to ensure that a quorum is maintained.
 - b. If you need to leave the auditorium for any reason, you MUST turn in any unused ballots. If you come back, you will receive any ballots that have not been voted on by the faculty yet.

- c. A quorum of 200 of the voting faculty is required to conduct business.
- d. If we drop below 200, we can continue the discussion but will not be able to vote.
- e. Unless 800 or more voting faculty members are present, a mail or electronic ballot of the full faculty is required to ratify any action taken. A majority of those voting in the email ballot shall be required for ratification.
- f. A Motion to Suspend the Rules will not be allowed during the Special Meeting of the Faculty.
- g. Speakers' comments are limited to 2 minutes.
- h. Speakers are only allowed to speak once per motion, until everyone has had a chance to speak.
- i. Each item on the agenda has a time limit assigned to it.
- j. No amendments, additional resolutions, or motions will be allowed.
- k. No roll call votes will be allowed.
- Voting Overview
 - I. Votes for agenda items shall be cast by paper ballot.
 - m. At the end of the time limit for each motion, the faculty will vote.
 - n. Vote counting will occur on the stage by our volunteers, and the results will be announced.
 - i. Members will need to be present at the point in the meeting when a vote on a specific motion is called if they wish to cast a ballot on that motion.
- 4. Motion #1: No Confidence in Indiana University Bloomington VPFAA Carrie Docherty
 - a. Comments commenced for 45 minutes.
 - b. President Johnson confirmed that the voting members present in the room were above the 800 threshold.
 - c. The total number of votes cast = 895
 - i. Abstentions = 116
 - ii. In favor of no confidence = 672
 - iii. Do not support a no confidence motion = 107
 - iv. The motion carries and the IU Bloomington faculty have voted no confidence in VPFAA Carrie Docherty.
- 5. Motion #2: No Confidence in Indiana University Bloomington Provost Rahul Shrivastav
 - a. Comments commenced for 40 minutes.
 - b. President Johnson confirmed that the voting members present in the room were above the 800 threshold.
 - c. The total number of votes cast = 879
 - i. Abstentions = 28
 - ii. In favor of no confidence = 804
 - iii. Do not support a no confidence motion = 47
 - iv. The motion carries and the IU Bloomington faculty have voted no confidence in Provost Rahul Shrivastav.
- 6. Motion #3: No Confidence in Indiana University President Pamela Whitten
 - a. Comments commenced for 23 minutes.

- b. President Johnson confirmed that the voting members present in the room were above the 800 threshold.
- c. The total number of votes cast = 888
 - i. Abstentions = 32
 - ii. In favor of no confidence = 827
 - iii. Do not support a no confidence motion = 29
 - iv. The motion carries and the IU Bloomington faculty have voted no confidence in IU President Pamela Whitten.
- 7. President Johnson concluded the meeting by sharing the next steps. The outcomes of the votes will be shared with the appropriate officials. President Johnson will provide a summary of the vote and a characterization of the faculty's discussion in his communication. He reminded the faculty that expressions of no confidence in such appointees are ultimately advisory to the parties that appointed them.

President Johnson expressed his thanks to the BFC Office Staff, the BFC Executive Committee, volunteer vote tabulators, and all the volunteers who helped with the special meeting. He expressed a special thank you to the IU Auditorium staff for helping host this event and being such wonderful partners. Finally, he expressed thanks to all of the faculty for their care, orderliness, and thoughtfulness related to the task that was presented to us and highlighted that this was a demonstration of faculty shared governance.

- 8. The meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m.
- 9. Information, for the record, regarding the number of voting faculty for the special meeting of the faculty held on April 16, 2024:
 - a. The total number of eligible faculty to vote at the special meeting of the faculty was 3,276. This included 2,433 tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty and librarians who have appointments of at least .75 FTE, and 843 emeriti faculty.
 - b. Attendance was tracked throughout the meeting to ensure that when a motion was called the voting members present in the room were above the 800 threshold. Total attendance at the special meeting of the faculty was 948 faculty. That included 838 tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty and librarians who have appointments of at least .75 FTE, and 110 emeriti faculty.
 - c. Faculty who are eligible to vote are defined by the Constitution of the Bloomington Faculty (BL-ACA-D8) that defines the voting faculty as those tenuretrack and non-tenure-track faculty and librarians who have appointments of at least .75 FTE, as well as emeriti. Part-time, acting, adjunct, visiting, or honorary faculty, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, academic specialists and student academic appointees do not qualify as members of the voting faculty for the purposes of special meetings of the faculty.