Minutes

of the

Bloomington Faculty Council

March 4, 2025

Minute items correspond with their numerical designation on the meeting agenda. Each item includes a time stamp to indicate its place in the audio recording of this meeting. Recordings and other materials relevant to Bloomington Faculty Council meetings are available through the Meeting Materials links on the council website.



The Bloomington Faculty Council held its regular biweekly meeting on Tuesday afternoon, March 4, 2025 in Presidents Hall. The meeting came to order at 2:30 PM with Faculty Provost Rahul Shrivastav acting as Presiding Officer and Professor Dana Anderson acting as Secretary.

- 1. The Council moved to approve the minutes of its February 25, 2025 meeting. The motion carried. [:30]
- 2. Professor Jessica Lester read a memorial resolution for Senior Research Scientist Emerita Lucy Cherbas (2022). During her 31 years in the Department of Biology, Dr. Cherbas was instrumental in founding the Drosophila Genomic Resource Center at IU, and she took particular pride in being one of the first female colleagues in a department whose predominantly male faculty (95% by her count) was more than 30% female upon her retirement in 2016. [1:30]
- 3. Faculty President Danielle DeSawal presented the business of the Executive Committee. Main items included a follow-up on last meeting's motion to incorporate a standing section for new items from the floor; a summary of the approval process and scope of the recently revised <u>UA-08</u> Policy Development, Revision, and Retirement; and a reminder that student participants in BFC proceedings merit Council members' most thoughtful and professional treatment. [5:30]

Special reminder: Council members are asked to encourage their constituencies to participate in the <u>upcoming BFC 2025–2027 election</u>, which closes on Friday, March 14. Any faculty member may nominate themselves or others for open Council seats.

As Council President DeSawal announced, the **candidates for BFC President-Elect** in this election are Council member Heather Akou (Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design), Council member Chase McCoy (Luddy School of Informatics and BFC Parliamentarian), and Council Member Dana Anderson (Department of English and BFC Secretary). Candidate statements can be accessed here (bottom of page).

4. Provost Rahul Shrivastav presented the Presiding Officer's Report, in which he welcomed the new Dean of the Kelley School of Business, Professor Patrick Hopkins; expressed the University's thanks to the Kelley School's outgoing Dean, Professor Ash Soni; reiterated his counsel from each of this year's meetings that faculty consult the website of the Office of University Relations for the most up-to-date information regarding legislative changes relevant to IU; reported as per faculty request that there are no new violations of UA-10 Expressive Activity Policy; and congratulated many faculty for recognitions that, while too numerous to list here (a delightful inconvenience if such a thing ever there were), have been appended at the conclusion of these minutes. [12:37] †

- 5. The meeting was opened for questions and comments from delegates. As an interim response to the faculty request that the By-Laws allot 10 minutes for new business at each Council Meeting, this period for questions and comments was extended by 10 minutes. (The proposed amendment to the By-Laws itself remains under the consideration of the Constitution and Rules Committee.) [20:35]
- 6. Student Affairs Committee Co-chairs Bryant Paul and Catherine Sherwood–Laughlin, along with IU Student Government Representative Veronica Salama, presented the second reading of their Proposed Changes to <u>BL-ACA-H28</u> Faculty Instructional Responsibilities, which focus on guidelines for how instructors can facilitate student course selection through the advanced sharing of basic course information. [45:30]
- 7. The meeting was opened for questions, comments, and a vote regarding the proposed changes above. The motion to incorporate the changes carried. [59:38]
- 8. Vice Provost for Student Life Lamar Hylton presented the Report on Student Life. The report emphasized the Office's data-driven approach to identifying and addressing student needs, including the many inter-related needs comprising student wellness. [1:10:00]
- 9. The meeting was opened for discussion of the Report on Student Life. [1:22:00]
- **10.** Vice Provost for Finance and Administration Aimee Heeter and Dean of the Kelley School of Business Ash Soni presented their update on the ongoing budget model redesign. [1:32:00]
- 11. The meeting was opened for questions and comments regarding the budget mode update. [1:50:56]
- 12. The meeting adjourned at 4:30.

[†] Faculty recognized by the Provost for grants, awards, and other achievements

- Distinguished Professor Eduardo Brondizio, Department of Anthropology
- Assistant Vice Provost Sasha Themi, Office of Admissions
- Professor Adam P. Liff, Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies
- Professor Ed Dallis—Comentale, Department of English
- Professor Brenda Brenner, Jacobs School of Music
- Senior Scientist Ruth Gasman, School of Public Health
- Professor Keisuke Kawata, School of Public Health
- Professor Justin Kumar Huntley, Department of Biology
- Professor Heather Hundley, Department of Biology
- Professor Clay Fuqua, Department of Biology
- Professor Jeremy Siek, Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering
- Professor Yijie Wang, Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Faculty recognized by the Provost as 2025 IU Distinguished Professors

- Professor Atar Arad, Jacobs School of Music
- Professor Alan Dennis, Kelley School of Business
- Professor Cynthia Graham, Department of Gender Studies



The next meeting of the Bloomington Faculty Council is scheduled for Tuesday, March 25, 2:30–4:30 PM, in Presidents Hall of the Franklin Hall building.

Materials from this meeting and all prior Council meetings, including agendas, minutes, audio recordings, and transcripts, are available on the Faculty Council website.

Questions or comments regarding minutes and executive summaries may be directed to the Faculty Council Secretary at bfcsecy@iu.edu

Dana Anderson, Secretary Bloomington Faculty Council