Diversity Equity and Inclusion Committee

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee develops policies related to campus diversity; responds to campus issues on affirmative action that may arise; monitors the performance of the campus in meeting affirmative action goals; confers with the campus affirmative action officer and the office of academic support and diversity on policy and performance issues; prepares an annual report to the BFC.

2021-2022 Assignments

  1. Strategize how to improve coordination between various DEI offices
  2. Advocate to CITL for more robust professional development in DEIJ for faculty 
  3. Investigate if there any concerns for DEI faculty with the return to campus post-covid
  4. Oversee yearly DEI Award selection
  5. Consider a proposed land acknowledgement statement and make a recommendation to BFC
  6. DEI Subcommittee on Critical Race Theory: Continue work on collecting resources and coordinating with other DEI offices next year

2021 - 2022 Members

Suha Lasassmeh
Sylvia Martinez, Education

Sofiya Asher
Slavic and East European Languages and Cultures
Constance Cook Glenn
Jacobs School of Music
Julie Hardesty
Nancy Lipschultz
Theatre, Drama, and Contemporary Dance
Rob Loveless
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Stephanie Moore
Kelley School of Business
Lem Watson
Acting Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion (Ex offico)