Increased NTT Representation


This proposal establishes election units in four non-tenure-track faculty groups: clinical appointees; lecturer appointees; professor of practice appointees; and research scientist/scholar appointees. Election units will be determined by the Nomination Committee and ratified by the BFC. It also requires that the number of voting tenure-track faculty and librarian representative be no less than 60% of the total voting membership of the Council.

The proposal passed the Bloomington Faculty Council, with five members opposed.

Current constitution

A. Representation of Faculty and Librarian Units
1. Faculty and Librarian Election Units; Qualifications of Representatives
The following units shall each constitute an election unit: College of Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Education; School of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation; School of Journalism; School of Law; School of Library and Information Science; School of Music; School of Optometry; School of Public and Environmental Affairs; the Library; and the School of Informatics. However, the College of Arts and Sciences shall be divided into sub-election units in a manner specified by agreement of the College Policy Committee and the Bloomington Faculty Council Nomination Committee. Such division of the College into sub-election units shall be published with the Council's bylaws governing the conduct of elections. Faculty members in any subelection unit of the College may nominate and vote in all sub-election units of the College. Further, any academic units with faculty on the Bloomington campus not included within the above units shall be grouped together to constitute an election unit. Council representatives from election units must be persons qualifying under sections 1.1 or 1.2 of this constitution and shall be nominated and elected by such qualified persons in the represented unit.